Review – Fate’s Love – L. A. Cotton

Summary:

When you meet that one person in the world meant for you… you should hold onto them.

Olivia Bannon walked away.

Twice.

When 17-year-old Livy meets Ethan, she can’t deny their inexplicable connection. Lost in his dark, intense eyes and smile-to-die-for, Livy never thought she would feel like this. It almost makes her want to break her childhood vow, but Livy knows happily ever after is just an illusion, and despite her heart wanting Ethan, her head is telling her to stick with the plan. The one that doesn’t include falling in love. Period.

Eight years later, Livy finds herself back in her hometown. After the way she left things, the last time they were together, Livy is anxious about seeing Ethan again. It shouldn’t come as a shock to discover he has finally moved on—but it hurts. A lot. Accepting that she will never get the chance to put things right isn’t easy, but it’s not until life comes crashing down around her that Livy realizes what she could’ve had. Left broken, alone, and depressed, only one person can pull her out—the guy she thought she’d pushed away one too many times.

Livy has finally realized that you can’t fight fate… Some things are just meant to be. Is this finally her time to get it right, or has Livy missed her last chance with Ethan?

22886660

Review:

When I first started reading this book, I thought it was going to be your typical YA book about letting your first love go and the regret that follows. I was wrong. While it starts with characters of YA age, it’s much more than that.

Livy has closed her heart to love after watching how her dad leaving affected her mum. Let’s be real, who could blame her in a way? Having said that, she meets Ethan, a boy in her school who she can’t forget, yet nothing happens between them, until prom. After a kiss, Livy leaves Ethan behind her, and moves onto college.

College is a bit of an eye opener for her, but Livy continues on her path, following her life plan. Yes, she dates more, but it’s never anything serious, nothing to disrupt her life. Until one night, her casual boyfriend gets a bit too handsy. Ethan suddenly shows up and the pair of them rekindle what they had in high School, but yet again, Livy runs away from possible commitment. Following on from these events, Livy moves on with her life, mostly following her plan to a tea.

Overall, this books is a good read, easy to slip in to when a reader has a spare hour or two. It’s paced well, and the flow of the story moves really well. The characters are well rounded, likeable and relateable.  Livy’s best friend Sharn had her moments where I wanted to smack her, but her heart was in the right place.

Most of the book is relateable to the readers, who can imagine themselves in Livy’s place, or even empathise with her due to effects in their own lives.

Cotton has captured regret and lost love flawlessly, my only issue was the way Livy constantly refused to open her heart to love, even just a little. She sometimes came across as a little stand offish in places, but it was never annoying, just a little irritating.

I will definitely be reading the second book in the series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Tour, British, contemporary, Friendship, New Release, Review, Romance

Cover Reveal – Getting Lucky – Beth Bolden

Coming December 1, 2014

GETTING LUCKY BY BETH BOLDEN

the second book in the Portland Pioneers series

He might have struck out. . .

Noah Fox’s life is changing. Ever since he was hit in the head by a pitch, nothing has been the same. Fighting daily headaches and the growing fear that his baseball career is over, Noah goes in search of the woman who once loved and left him.

But he refuses to stop swinging.

What he finds in the tiny town of Sand Point is nothing he could have ever expected. A trained chef and a certified “foodie,” Maggie May King has been perfectly content to devote the last three years of her life to running her baby, the Sand Point Café. Noah’s never met anyone less awed by his good looks or his celebrity, and even though she’s the last person he should be befriending, he finds himself seduced by Maggie’s sweetness and her even sweeter orange rolls.

section break

Beth BoldenBeth Bolden lives in Portland,Oregon with one cat and one fiance. She wholly believes in Keeping Portland Weird, but wishes she didn’t have to make the yearly pilgrimage up to Seattle to watch her Boston Red Sox play baseball. After graduating from university with a degree in English, Beth unsurprisingly had no idea what to do with her life, and spent the next few years working for a medical equipment supplier, a technology company, and an accounting firm. Now Beth runs her own business as a Girl Friday for small business owners, assisting them with administration, bookkeeping and their general sanity. Beth has been writing practically since she learned the alphabet. Unfortunately, her first foray into novel writing, titled Big Bear with Sparkly Earrings, wasn’t a bestseller, but hope springs eternal. Her first novel, The Lucky Charm, was published in May 2014 and the sequel, Getting Lucky, will be available December 1, 2014.

Connect with Beth Bolden

Website| Facebook | Twitter| Goodreads | Mailing List

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Cover Reveal, Promo, Romance, Series, Upcoming Release

Sneal Peek Sunday – Lessons Learned – Sydney Logan

On October 17, Amazon best selling author Sydney Logan is relaunching her debut novel with a brand new cover! She’s celebrating by offering a giveaway filled with signed paperbacks and Lessons Learned swag!

English teacher Sarah Bray never thought she’d return to Sycamore Falls, but a traumatic event at her inner-city school leaves her desperate for the sanctuary of home. By returning to her roots, an older and wiser Sarah hopes to deal with the demons of her present and confront the ghosts of her past. 

She discovers a kindred spirit in Lucas Miller, a teacher from New York with demons of his own. As the newest faculty members at Sycamore High School, they quickly become friends – bonding through Lucas’s culture shock and their mutual desire to build new lives. When they open their wounded hearts to each other, their friendship effortlessly evolves into romance. 

Their love is put to the test when Matt, the quarterback of the football team, shares his deepest secret with Sarah. When the conservative community finds out, Sarah and Lucas – along with the town of Sycamore Falls – are schooled in the lessons of acceptance, tolerance, and love.
  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23295924-lessons-learned

 

Amazon best selling author Sydney Logan holds a Master’s degree in Elementary Education. She is the author of three novels – Lessons Learned, Mountain Charm, and Soldier On. Sydney has also penned four short stories and is a contributor to Chicken Soup for the Soul.

A native of East Tennessee, Sydney enjoys playing piano and relaxing on her porch with her wonderful husband and their very spoiled cat. Visit her website at http://www.sydneylogan.com.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author to Author, contemporary, Favourites, News, Promo, Re-Release, Romance, TWCS

Cover Reveal – MADE – J. M. Darhower

MADE: A Sempre Novel

J.M. Darhower

This is a prequel spin-off of the Forever Series

Release Date: October 27, 2014

MADEfront

Blurb:

Corrado Moretti.

The world knows the notorious Kevlar Killer, but few have ever seen what lies beneath his armor. The abused child. The neglected teenager. The broken man. He always did whatever he had to do in order to survive.

It’s kill or be killed.

Throughout his life, he has been there in the shadows, a witness to everything from beginning to end. Bound by loyalty and honor, there’s only one thing he would sacrifice it all for: family.

Never get close. Never get attached. It’s a lesson that has been brutally pounded into him since childhood, but they’re words the DeMarcos make it difficult for him to follow. Through them he finds love and grieves loss, realizing the world isn’t quite as black and white as it’s made out to be.

Made.

 

MADEfull

Teaser:

The low groan on the first floor roused Corrado from sleep. His eyes snapped open, suddenly alert, as the relentless noise seemed to echo through the house. A window. He often slept with them open a crack to let the air circulate, but someone shoved one open the whole way.

His heart thumped wildly in his chest as he reached onto his bedside stand and grabbed his gun. He habitually checked it, ensuring it was still loaded, and jumped out of bed. There was no time to waste getting dressed; he crept down the hallway in his plaid boxers, his bare feet lightly touching the floor, making not a sound.

The second he made it downstairs, a breeze struck him from the living room. A few steps later he appeared in the doorway, pointing his gun at the form halfway through the window. He flipped off the safety as his finger lightly touched the trigger. Two seconds. Two seconds were all it would take to blow them away.

A pair of wide brown eyes instantly met Corrado’s. “Whoa, there, big guy.”

Just as fast as he’d aimed, prepared to kill whoever was breaking into his house, he lowered the gun. “Dammit, Celia!”

“Nice to see you, too.” She swung both legs inside but remained perched on the windowsill. “You weren’t really going to shoot me, were you?”

“Yes,” he said, no hesitation. “I was.”

“Well, I’m lucky you didn’t.”

“Lucky?” Corrado stared at her with disbelief. “I would’ve shot you, Celia. Two more seconds and I would’ve killed you. And then your father… your father would’ve killed me.”

“Yeah, he probably would’ve.”

“There’s no probably about it. He would’ve mutilated me. You… you wouldn’t have felt a thing. But me…” He shuddered just thinking about it. “What are you doing here? Are you in some kind of trouble?”

“I wanted to talk to you.”

Corrado gaped at her. “You broke into my house to talk?”

“Well, I would’ve called, but I don’t have your number.” Celia stood and strolled around the darkened living room, glancing at his belongings. “Besides, something tells me you’re not the talking-on-the-phone type.”

Novellas: 

FRIENDS:

One moment.

One wrong choice.

That was all it took to destroy a friendship.

*takes place before Sempre* 

FOREVER:

Halloween.

With a three year old.

‘Nuff said.

*takes place after Sempre: Redemption* 

novellas22

About the Author:

J.M. Darhower is the USA Today bestselling author of books about the hottest hitmen and the women who find some hope in them. She lives in a tiny town in rural North Carolina, where she churns out more words than will ever see the light of day. She has a deep passion for politics and speaking out against human trafficking, and when she isn’t writing (or fangirling) she’s usually ranting about those things. Chronic crimper with a vulgar mouth, she admits to having a Twitter addiction. You can usually find her there.

Author’s links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jmdarhower

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/JM-Darhower/187907981297867?skip_nax_wizard=true

Website: http://www.jmdarhower.com/

 

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Cover Reveal, excerpts, Favourites, Promo, Romance, Series, Suspense, Thriller, Upcoming Release

Cover Reveal – Shamrocks & Secrets – Cayce Poponea

 

Shamrocks_Secrets

Event Organized by ❤MaE Book Tours & Promo Stars Services

❤Cover Design by: Mayhem Cover Creations

Synopsis

Event planning, dealing with demanding clients and defusing situations before they get out of hand are all in a days work for Christi O’Rourke. But when a mystery man seems to appear at every turn will she have the ability to handle him as well?

Power and wealth are staples in the world of Patrick Malloy. But when family obligations dictate his future, a future involving a certain spirited young woman, will Patrick have what it takes to win her heart or will his lifestyle place her in more danger than he ever dreamed of?

Genre Romance/ Adult Fiction

Expected Publication Date To Be Announced


Excerpt

I turned quickly in the direction of the voice. Standing there in all of his glory and entourage was Patrick Malloy. His grey shirt had the top two buttons undone and his blazer matched his pants. His hair was in this incredible disarray, on any other man it would have looked unkept, but on him, it was sexy. His eyes, however, were black and his face was absent of emotion. The room seemed to grow very quiet as he waited for Kevin to answer his question. He then turned his attention to me.

“Legs, care to elaborate?”

I didn’t know if it was the alcohol or because I was really pissed that Kevin was taking up air at the moment, but the fact that he couldn’t say my name really pissed me the fuck off.

“Okay, first of all, my name is not Legs, it’s Christi. That shit just pisses me off to no end. I have a fucking name, Patrick, and I’d appreciate it if you’d fucking use it when you address me.”

The look on his face changed as I proceeded to stick my finger in his face, well more like his chest as he was considerable taller than myself. I watched as a tiny smirk began to form at the corner of his mouth.

I didn’t let him speak as I continued my word vomit.

“This waste of fucking skin here is the father of my beautiful niece, Abigail, and the fucker knows it, too. He hasn’t seen her in years and he refuses to pay one goddamn dime of court-ordered child support. So yes, Mr. Malloy, you have a low-life motherfucking dead-beat father working for you.”

His expression changed from the cocky smirk to now one of anger. I should have been afraid of this quick change, but in reality, I was starting to get turned on.


About the Author

Cayce Poponea is from southern Georgia. Where the days are hot and the nights are even hotter. Loving nothing more than to find a cool place to invite you into the world that she loves most. A world where every man is perfect and every woman is desirable. Where life is a little easier, less about what you need to do and more about what you want to do. Open the pages and find your spot in the world she has created, who knows you may never want to leave.

When Cayce isn’t writing, she enjoys time with her husband. Riding around on the back of her husbands motorcycle, most of the time with no destination in mind. Reading has always been a passion for Cayce. She discovered early the secret world it has hidden in its pages. From dragons to princesses with knights in shinning armor. Now that she is older, men with perfect bodies and words that make your heart melt. Women who know what they want and are willing to go after it.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MaE Book Tours
Promo Stars Services

♦Visit all the sites participating in the reveal♦

http://houseofmalfunction.com

http://www.fandemoniumnetwork.com

http://lindsey-gray.blogspot.com

http://reneeentress.blogspot.com

http://www.nisabelleblanco.com

http://aone-clickaddictsbookblog.blogspot.com/

http://trinastantilisingtidbits.blogspot.co.nz

https://www.facebook.com/TurnedOnByWords

http://theboyfriendbookmark.com

http://reyes139.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/ReadersHeavenUK

http://www.mixedemotionsbookblog.blogspot.com

http://amandahitgelmire.blogspot.com

http://darkestcravings.blogspot.com

http://authorkarenswart.blogspot.com

http://amandahitgelmire.blogspot.com

http://www.dauntlessindies.blogspot.com

http://noteveryonesmama.com

http://bookedeverynight.wix.com/bookedeverynight

http://wickedreadingsbytawania.blogspot.com

http://scandalousbookblog.blogspot.be/

http://a-reader-lives-a-thousand-lives.blogspot.co.uk

http://www.multitaskingmommas.com/

http://fuonlyknew.com

http://lifebooksandmore.blogspot.com

http://westoleyourbookboyfriend.weebly.com/

http://devilishlydeliciousbookreviews.wordpress.com/

http://authorsandralove.blogspot.com/

http://authorgroupies.com

http://kandesbookblog.blogspot.com

http://flirtynvicious.tumblr.com

http://agirlwholovesbooksblog.blogspot.co.uk

http://www.covertocoverbookblog.com

https://michbookreviews.wordpress.com

http://www.2writefromtheheart.blogspot.com

http://www.chaosmusings.tumblr.com

http://www.lovebitessilkties.co.uk/

http://www.whatisthatbookabout.com/

https://www.facebook.com/2BlondesBooksNBooze

http://www.thephantomparagrapher.blogspot.com/

http://www.mixdsignals.weebly.com

http://4bookwormsunited2014.wordpress.com/

http://ramblingsfromthesheets.blogspot.com/

http://twobrainbookreviewers.blogspot.com/

http://eskimoprincess.blogspot.com/

http://bookskater.com

http://bemybookboyfriend.blogspot.ie/

http://www.kumikoleilostinabook.blogspot.com

http://essencewrite.blogspot.com/

http://hookedonbooksforever.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1&zx=d8117fe70074ff0c

http://queenofthenightreviews.blogspot.com/

http://throughtheeyesofabookgoddess.blogspot.ca

http://www.tarasayers.com

http://sleepdeprivedbooklovers.blogspot.com

http://www.theliterarymeltingpot.com

 

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Cover Reveal, excerpts, Romance, Upcoming Release

Blog Tour – TWELVE – T. M. Franklin

Blog Tour Banner

The action-packed conclusion to the MORE Trilogy is here!

Twelve cover

 

Ava Michaels is gifted, powerful, and — whether she likes it or not — part of a plot to take over the world.

It’s only been a few months since Ava Michaels discovered she has ties to an ancient people living in the shadows of the human world, despite their superior gifts and abilities. A select few don’t like hiding, however, and think it’s time to take control.

Now Ava’s caught up in a conspiracy in the works before she was even born. In fact, her birth was an integral part of the plan. She’s one of the Twelve, the most powerful Race ever created, and they were created for a purpose.

Turns out, Ava doesn’t like being told what to do.

All she wants is to start a new life with her boyfriend, Caleb Foster, but before they can even think about that, they must join forces with former enemies, seek out some powerful new friends, and figure out what exactly the Twelve, and their power-hungry leader, are up to.

Then, they have to find a way to stop them.

Add TWELVE to your Goodreads Shelf!

 

Twelve (More, #3)
The Guest Post:

The End of MORE

“How does it feel to end a series after such a long time writing it?” 

It’s a question that a lot of people have asked me recently, for obvious reasons. The MORE Trilogy has taken up a lot of my time and effort over the past three-plus years, and it is difficult – a little bittersweet – to let it go. The characters have become like friends to me, in a lot of ways. I mean, I’ve spent more time with them than with some of my real life friends!

It’s strange to think that I won’t be writing any more about Caleb and Ava, but at the end of TWELVE, I believe we leave them in a pretty good place. Those crazy kids are going to be okay, I think.

Still, I think there might be more to tell.

I’ve been kicking around an idea for a story featuring our favorite Protector, Tiernan Ross.

“Three miles south-southwest,” he said, stuffing his phone back in his pocket. “I think we better go my way.” He held out his arms, and Tiernan’s eyes widened. 

“No way. You know I hate shifting.” 

“Come on, we don’t have time for this.” Caleb waved him forward with both hands. “It’s perfectly safe.” 

“Yeah, spreading my atoms all over God’s creation is safe. Right.” Tiernan backed away and turned to run.

Caleb beat him to it, shifting to stand right in front of him. 

Tiernan stopped short but not before bumping right into Caleb, who grabbed him and held on tight. 

“You might want to close your eyes.” 

“No!” 

But it was too late. 

Caleb shifted them not quite three miles but close enough. They materialized on a heavily wooded hill, and through the trees, he could make out a lake to the west. 

“Damn it, Foster.” Tiernan stumbled out of his hold and bent over, placing his hands on his knees as he retched onto the damp earth.

“I told you to close your eyes.” Caleb popped an R-cube into his mouth and started toward the lake. “Come on. We need to get going. I can feel her. She isn’t far.” 

Tiernan wiped his mouth and started after him. “Wai—” 

A fireball shot over their heads and slammed into a tree, and the dry pine needles erupted in flames. 

Tiernan cursed and ducked down to run toward Caleb, who was hunkered behind a large rock. “Looks like we’ve got company.” 

“Yeah.” Caleb peered over the top of the rock. 

“You see Ava?” 

Caleb dropped back toward the rock as another fireball shot past, closer than the last. “No. There are two of them, though. Christopher—”“The pyro?” 

Another fireball hit the rock in response. 

  • TWELVE, Chapter 14

How can you not love him? I really don’t know if I can leave Tiernan behind with the end of TWELVE, so it’s possible I’ll write a stand alone story for him at some point in the future. I’m not sure exactly when, or how long it will be, but I have a few ideas, so I think something will eventually come of it.

So the answer to the question about how it feels to end a series is one I didn’t expect when I started MORE. It doesn’t really end. If there are more stories in the MORE universe that come to mind, I’ll write them. Who knows what the future holds? Although I’m saying goodbye to Caleb and Ava, that doesn’t mean we’ll never hear from them again.

That’s one of the best parts of being a writer. The stories never end. :)

BTW – I LOVE the idea of a story about Tiernan – Mich x

Where to buy it

If you haven’t read the first two books, now is the time – all three books are ON SALE for a LIMITED TIME on select platforms!

On Sale

MORE – Amazon | TWCS | iTunes

The Guardians – Amazon | TWCS | iTunes

View the Trailer

About the Author

Author picT.M. Franklin started out her career writing non-fiction in a television newsroom. Graduating with a B.A. in Communications specializing in broadcast journalism and production, she worked for nine years as a major market television news producer, and garnered two regional Emmy Awards, before she resigned to be a full-time mom and part-time freelance writer. Her first published novel, MORE, was born during National Novel Writing month, a challenge to write a novel in thirty days. MORE was well-received, being selected as a finalist in the 2013 Kindle Book Review Best Indie Book Awards, as well as winning the Suspense/Thriller division of the Blogger Book Fair Reader’s Choice Awards.

 

In addition to MORE and its sequel, The Guardians, Franklin penned the Amazon best-selling short stories A Piece of Cake and Window, which also won a Blogger Book Fair Reader’s Choice Award for Short Story/Fantasy. Her new YA romance, How to Get Ainsley Bishop to Fall in Love with You, is Franklin’s first love story without a paranormal or fantasy element, although she believes love is the best kind of magic.

 

TWELVE, the final installment in the MORE Trilogy will be released October 9, 2014.

 

Connect with T.M. Franklin

 

Website | E-mail | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Pinterest | Goodreads

 

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment

Filed under Author to Author, Blog Tour, contemporary, excerpts, Favourites, Guest Post, New Release, Paranormal, Series, Supernatural, Suspense, TWCS, YA

Review – Coming Down – Carrie Elks

Summary:

Twenty-eight-year-old Beth Lawrence finally has her life back on track. A job she loves, a wealthy husband and a beautiful home are a far cry from the tragedy that struck when she was nineteen. But now that her past seems firmly behind her, an old flame walks back into her life. Bringing back painful memories of a time she’s worked hard to forget, reviving a passion she tried to bury years before.

Niall Joseph is an up-and-coming artist, recently returned from success in America. Volunteering to teach in an inner-city drug clinic, the last person he expects to see is the girl who broke his heart nine years earlier. Working closely together allows their old wounds to heal, forging a deeper connection between them. One that slowly starts to burn.

As she becomes tangled up with a neglected child and her drug-addict mother, Beth finds herself drawn to Niall. But neither of them can anticipate how hard it is to tread the thin line between friendship and desire.

71135-coming2bdown_cover

Review:

I’ve recently got to know Carrie Elks via Facebook, and we’re both attending the Second City Signing in Birmingham. I really can’t wait to meet her. I’d never gotten round to reading one of her books, so I grabbed this one on release day. I was so glad I did because as soon as I started reading, I fell in love.  With the story, the characters, the setting, just everything.

Centering around Beth, we have chapters set in the present, where Beth is married to Simon and working at a childcare facility for a drug rehab clinic and is pretty content with life. Then we have chapter set nine years previously, when Beth was at uni and was a bit of a wild child. She’s a habitual drug user and parties hard with the arty set, Niall in particular.

Elks drip feeds us Beth’s past, which is pretty traumatic and makes the reader really connect with her, and understand her choice of career, one which Simon, her husband, isn’t happy with her having. Then she meets Niall again.

I wouldn’t say all hell breaks loose, because it doesn’t, but seeing him again not only dredges up the past, but makes Beth reassess her life currently. It’s painful in it’s realism, and I’m sure many will be able to relate.

The entire story, interwoven with Beth’s involvement with a little girl, Allegra, and her drug addict mum, is written in such a sensitive way that you can’t help but be sucked into the story from the moment you begin until you finish the very last page.

I will certainly be reading more of Elk’s works, and will be first in line at her table at the signing next year.

Leave a comment

Filed under British, contemporary, New Release, Review, Romance

Review – Frequent Flyers – Various Authors

Summary:

Romance flies the friendly skies in this diverse collection of short stories from a talented group of best-selling and up-and-coming authors.

There’s something for everyone in this mile-high compilation – from a love story born in a blizzard to a steamy encounter spawned by a series of crazy events. For supernatural fiction fans, how about the tale of an airport that’s also a portal to another world… or a scheduled flight that takes a detour into an alternate reality?

From an unexpected trip that reignites a twenty year old flame, to a quirky liaison between a ticketing agent and an adorable doctor, Frequent Flyers takes you on a journey that will touch your heart and leave you flying high!

23197256

Eye of the Storm – Beth Bolden

I loved Tess. She reminded me of so many people in my large Irish family, and I saw some aspects of myself in her too.
I enjoyed the way Bolden uses 3rd person narrative, yet tells us the story from Tess’ pov.
The chemistry between her and Grant is, at first, awkward, but the exploration the 2 of them go on during the storm is well rounded and thought out.
Even though its only a short story, it never feels rushed or as if the author passes information by.
4*

Forced Landing – Angel Lawson

I loved the paranormal elements. It was a bit of a slow burn which was a bit frustrating at times, but once Nadya became more aware of what was happening and the truth about her and her mother, the story was thoroughly engaging.
Easily could be continued into a series.
Didn’t feel rushed, a bit slow at first, but pace was perfect overall.
4*

Unexpected Departure – T. M. Franklin

T. M. Franklin is at her paranormal best! I was just as confused as Rowan throughout the story, and  when things were going crazy, I thought I was right with her. The entire thing kept me turning pages. I NEEDED to know what was happening.
Sucked in right from the beginning, pace was perfect.
5*

A Midsummer Flight’s Dream – Kira A. Gold

Little bit confusing at first, but I soon got into it. A lot going on at the same time, but the more I read, the more I was able to keep up with the story. As enjoyable as it was, it wasn’t one of my favourites in the anthology simply because when I put it down for a while, I wasn’t itching to pick it back up. Coupled with the  confusion at the story, it was just ‘ok’ for me.
3*

Fly Me to the Moon – Bev Elle

I love stories about people finding each other again, and this is just what you got with this story. There were a couple of times I wanted to shake Jessamy, but she eventually sorted her priorities out. I kind of guessed the outcome, but it didn’t prevent me one bit from enjoying the story.
The OCD aspect was interesting as I’ve not had much interaction with it in such severe cases. The author dealt with it in a sensitive and classy way. Beware, you WILL hum the Sinatra song throughout, and beyond, reading this story.

4.5*

The Friendly Skies – Amanda Weaver

The relationship between Simon and Cassie was paced perfectly. I half expected it to feel rushed considering the majority of the story takes place in a matter of hours, but it never did. The pacing was perfect.
Both characters were likeable and relateable – particularly when they shared their relationship histories.
4* 

Overall:

As a collection, Frequent Flyers is a great book for dipping in and out of. It can be put down between stories and picked up at a later time. Perfect for a holiday or, dare I say it, a longish flight. I liked the way each author took a different take to the ‘flight’ aspect and really made it their own.
4-4.5*

2 Comments

Filed under ARC, Author to Author, Compilation, contemporary, Novella, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Short Story, Supernatural, TWCS, Upcoming Release

Cover Reveal – Serpent’s Kiss – Sherri Hayes

Screen Shot 2014-08-05 at 7.51.33 PM.png
 
Title: Serpent’s Kiss
Genre: Erotic Romance
Author: Sherri Hayes
Expected publication: December 4, 2014
SYNOPSIS
After losing her husband unexpectedly, Katrina Mayer decided to open Serpent’s Kiss. She wanted it to be a place where she and her fellow kinksters could play and socialize.
Five years after the doors opened, the club is everything she’d hoped it would be. On Friday and Saturday nights, Serpent’s Kiss is filled with men and women who share a similar desire to explore the pleasures BDSM has to offer. The club has continued to grow, and over the years, many of its members have become friends.
The one thing Katrina didn’t expect when she’d decided to open a club was the human drama that came with it. Learning to balance her life as the club mistress has taken some getting used to, but she wouldn’t change a thing.

 

AUTHOR
71a8706b1176a738beed03e0856a5345.jpgSherri spent most of her childhood detesting English class. It was one of her least favorite subjects because she never seemed to fit into the standard mold. She wasn’t good at spelling, or following grammar rules, and outlines made her head spin. For that reason, Sherri never imagined becoming an author.
At the age of thirty, all of that changed. After getting frustrated with the direction a television show was taking two of its characters, Sherri decided to try her hand at writing an alternate ending, and give the characters their happily ever after. By the time the story finished, it was one of the top ten read stories on the site, and her readers were encouraging her to write more.
Six years later, Sherri is the author of six full-length novels, and one short story. Writing has become a creative outlet for Sherri that allows her to explore a wide range of emotions, while having fun taking her characters through all the twists and turns she can create. She is most well known for her Finding Anna series about a young woman rescued from being a sex slave by a wealthy Dominant. The third book in that series, Truth, released July 25, 2013.

 

SOCIAL LINKS

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author to Author, contemporary, Cover Reveal, Erotica, Promo, Romance, TWCS, Upcoming Release

Cover Reveal – Frequent Flyers – Various Authors

Cover Reveal for Frequent Flyers, a Romantic Short Story Collection

Frequent Flyers Cover

Coming November 1, 2014!

Summary

Romance flies the friendly skies in this diverse collection of short stories from a talented group of best-selling and up-and-coming authors.

There’s something for everyone in this mile-high compilation – from a love story born in a blizzard to a steamy encounter spawned by a series of crazy events. For supernatural fiction fans, how about the tale of an airport that’s also a portal to another world… or a scheduled flight that takes a detour into an alternate reality?

From an unexpected trip that reignites a twenty year old flame, to a quirky liaison between a ticketing agent and an adorable doctor, Frequent Flyers takes you on a journey that will touch your heart and leave you flying high!

Eye of the Storm by Beth Bolden – Commercial pilot Captain Grant Montgomery III lives for the rules; flight attendant Tess O’Brien loves to break them. The storm brewing between them might be even wilder than the record-breaking blizzard outside.

Forced Landing by Angel Lawson – Nadya discovers her tiny hometown airport is the portal to a world she never knew existed, one with an ancient history buried deep within her bloodline.

Unscheduled Departure by T.M. Franklin – Rowan Elliott is devastated when her boyfriend, Finn, tells her he’s moving across the country to take over the family business, and thrilled when he changes his mind at the last minute and gets off the plane. But then things get . . . weird. And Ro’s left wondering if her boyfriend’s really who she thinks he is.

A Midsummer Flight’s Dream by Kira A. Gold – Twenty years ago, he promised to catch her if she fell. Contains young lust, old books, and wild strawberries.

Fly Me To The Moon by Bev Elle – Ticketing agent Jessamy Taylor has been in a dating slump that was exacerbated when she moved her sickly mother in. Truth is, she’s never gotten over the quirky Dr. Griffin Sanderson whose OCD drives her crazy, despite his excellent bedside manner.

The Friendly Skies by Amanda Weaver – An unruly drunk, a misbehaving volcano and a re-routed flight lead to one steamy night for two strangers who meet on a plane.

Add Frequent Flyers to Your Goodreads Shelf!

Frequent Flyers
About the Authors

Beth BoldenBeth Bolden lives in Portland,Oregon with one cat and one fiance. She wholly believes in Keeping Portland Weird, but wishes she didn’t have to make the yearly pilgrimage up to Seattle to watch her Boston Red Sox play baseball. After graduating from university with a degree in English, Beth unsurprisingly had no idea what to do with her life, and spent the next few years working for a medical equipment supplier, a technology company, and an accounting firm. Now Beth runs her own business as a Girl Friday for small business owners, assisting them with administration, bookkeeping and their general sanity.

Beth has been writing practically since she learned the alphabet. Unfortunately, her first foray into novel writing, titled Big Bear with Sparkly Earrings, wasn’t a bestseller, but hope springs eternal. Her first novel, The Lucky Charm, was published in May 2014 and its sequel, Getting Lucky will be available December 1, 2014.

Connect with Beth Bolden

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Mailing List

Divider

Angel Lawson

Angel Lawson lives with her family in Atlanta and has a lifelong obsession with creating fiction from reality, either with paint or words. On a typical day you can find her writing, reading, plotting her escape from the zombie apocalypse and trying to get the glitter out from under her nails.

She is the author of five books, including the Wraith Series, Serial Summer, FanGirl, and Vigilant. She is the co-author of the New Adult Paranormal book, Odin’s Murder with Kira Gold.

Connect with Angel Lawson

Twitter | Website | Facebook | Goodreads

Divider

T.M. FranklinT.M. Franklin started out her career writing nonfiction in a television newsroom. Graduating with a B.A. in Communications specializing in broadcast journalism and production, she worked for nine years as a major market television news producer, and garnered two regional Emmy Awards, before she resigned to be a full-time mom and part-time freelance writer. Her first published novel, MORE, was born out of a challenge to write a novel in thirty days issued during National Novel Writing month. MORE was well received, selected as a finalist in the 2013 Kindle Book Review Best Indie Book Awards, and won the Suspense/Thriller division of the Blogger Book Fair Reader’s Choice Awards.

In addition to MORE and its sequels, The Guardians and TWELVE, Franklin has penned the Amazon best-selling short stories, Window and A Piece of Cake. Her Amazon best-selling YA romance, How to Get Ainsley Bishop to Fall in Love with You, is Franklin’s first love story without traditionally recognized paranormal or fantasy elements. Although . . . T. M. is the first to argue that love is the best kind of magic.

Connect with T.M. Franklin

Website | E-mail | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Mailing List

Divider

Kira Gold

Kira A. Gold is a textile artist living in Lexington, Kentucky. She has four accidental cats and an intentional collection of vintage marionettes. After midnight, she writes strange things in a blue bathrobe.
Her first book, ODIN’S MURDER, with Angel Lawson, is a New Adult paranormal twist on Norse mythology. Her solo debut, THE SCENT OF FLAMES, is a Young Adult take on Hamlet, set in Vermont. Look for her next play on Shakespeare, a seductive and speculative MacBeth, early next year.
Like her author page here: https://www.facebook.com/kiraagoldauthor for book info and odd thoughts or follow her inappropriate insanity on twitter: @kiraagold
Divider

Bev ElleBev Elle is the author of sweet and spicy contemporary romance, women’s fiction and historical paranormal romance. A love of books–many already written, and those she harbors in her very active imagination. Writing is a passion she’s had for many years, but was unable to act upon. Bev Elle is the mother of three human children and two canines. She is also the lover of one husband. When Bev isn’t writing in her spare time after work, she is thinking of doing so.

Connect with Bev Elle

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Google+ | Pinterest | Mailing List

 

Divider

Amanda Weaver

Like many writers, Amanda Weaver spent her childhood telling stories. College steered her in a different direction and into a successful career as a designer. Several years ago, she picked up writing again as a hobby, to blow off some creative steam. One thing led to another, National Novel Writing Month happened, and here we are.

Amanda Weaver grew up in Florida and now lives in Brooklyn, New York with her husband, daughter and two crazy cats.

Connect with Amanda Weaver

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

Giveaway

Join Us for the Frequent Flyers RELEASE PARTY on November 1st! And ENTER NOW to Win One of Six Amazon Gift Cards – or One of Six ARCs of Frequent Flyers!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment

Filed under Author to Author, Compilation, contemporary, Cover Reveal, Novella, Paranormal, Romance, Short Story, Upcoming Release