Review – Lives Collide – Kristina Beck

Synopsis:

You can plan your life, but sometimes life has a mind of its own…

Following Lisa’s near-death experience as a teenager, she is haunted by the emerald-green eyes of the stranger who saved her life. Her only connection to him is the leather jacket he left behind. Years later, she’s still reeling from the aftereffects of her injuries, convinced that no man will love her once he uncovers her secret. She lives a life of solitude and hides behind her days of monotony. And then James storms into her life.

After James helps a young girl in a car accident, he sets his life course—determined that nothing will stand in his way. Once he accomplishes his dreams, one unforeseen event changes his orderly existence into one of chaos. He spirals downward and can’t summon the strength to pull himself from the edge of despair. Until Lisa becomes a beautiful distraction.

Familiarity and a sense of peace draw them to one another. They soon discover they lived parallel lives that intertwined at the most crucial points. Can their revelations help them face their fears and move forward, or will history repeat itself?

Review:

 

3.5 stars

*I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

The entire idea of this book is wonderful. I absolutely loved the idea of two people fated to meet and be together, and Lives Collide didn’t disappoint in that respect.

I must admit, I wasn’t keen on the 1st person narrative. At times it was a little jarring to read, and both characters had a lot of internal thoughts and worries. Sometimes, these came across as a little juvenile for their ages, but on the whole I enjoyed reading their thought processes.

While I devoured this story in pretty much one sitting – kudos to Beck for keeping me turning pages, needing to know what happens next, the writing style felt a little off. I think it was because of the slight immaturity at times of both Lisa and James. I can’t put my finger on what exactly bugged me, but it was there.

I will read more of this series as I loved and cared about all of the characters who were all very well rounded and never blurred into one another. Each character had their own personality, and apart from Bryant, I wanted to see them all get their happy endings.

If you’re after an easy read that deals with sensitive issues in a wonderful and delicate way, then I do recommend Lives Collide.

1 Comment

Filed under contemporary, Promo, Review, Romance, Series

One response to “Review – Lives Collide – Kristina Beck

Leave a comment