Review – Pretty Girl Thirteen – Liz Coley

A gripping, suspenseful debut that will haunt you long after you have turned the final page…

Angie Chapman is only 13 when she gets lost in the woods in the middle of the night.

The next thing she knows she’s returned home, scars around her wrists and ankles, physically exhausted. Her parents collapse into tears when they see her, but Angie doesn’t understand – until they tell her she has been missing, presumed dead, for three years.

Angie doesn’t remember anything from her missing years. But there are people who do – people who could tell Angie every terrifying detail, if only they weren’t locked inside her mind.

With help, Angie begins to unravel the darkest secrets of her own past.

But does she really want to know the truth?

 

18183971

 

Red Stars 3

 

I finished this last night and after thinking about it, I dropped it from a 4* to a 3*. I’ll get to that later.

It took me a few chapters to really get into this book, but I’m glad I persevered. I admit, for the first few chapters it bugged me that this book was written in 3rd because I wanted to know more about how Angie was feeling and how she coped internally with her amnesia, but once the Alters began speaking, it made sense.

I have to admit, things like multiple personalities fascinates me because I don’t understand the science to it. The fact that the brain is able to do something like that to protect itself is amazing, however, here is why I dropped my rating.

While I know nothing (Call me Jon Snow), it felt that Coley had really over simplified the condition. Now, that is not a bad thing because this is a YA book. The way she explained it didn’t feel like a ton of medical jargon was being thrown at me.

I ADORED all of the alters – they really felt separate from Angie which made them feel all the more real.

Once the story got going, the pace was excellent – however, the ‘recovery’ for me was a little too fast. I don’t know how realistic this is, but for the sake of the book it worked.

Well worth a read, even if parts are a little predictable and you may have to suspend belief momentarily.

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Mystery, Review, Suspense, YA

Leave a Reply

