Review – Deliverance – L.A Cotton & Jenny Siegal

Summary:

Joy Mathers has spent the last three years numb. From her past, her present, and her inevitable future. She was supposed to escape the deadbeat town of Chancing, but now it’s her prison, and she couldn’t leave…even if she wanted to.

For the last two years, Dawson Spencer has been holed up in some of the worst corners of the world. He’s seen things no man should ever see, and thought nothing could ever shock him. Until he returns to Chancing and discovers everything has changed in the town he once called home.

He thought Joy was away pursuing her dreams. She thought Dawson was never coming back. And while their connection might still be there, Joy isn’t Dawson’s anymore, and it would be better—safer—for everyone if he walked away. But walking away isn’t an option for Dawson, not this time.

He gave up everything to protect her once … and he’ll do it again.

preorder

Review:

Silver Stars 4

***Trigger warnings for domestic and sexual abuse***

L.A. Cotton is one of the few authors I will put downwhat I’m doing to read her books. I’d never read anything by Jenny Siegel before, so I was interested to find out how this co-written book would work. Right from the very beginning, this is very different to what I’ve read of L.A. Cottons work before, and believe me when I say that is not a bad thing, at all.

All I knew about this book when I opened was that it was a second chance romance between Joy and Dawson. Nothing else, so going into it, I couldn’t wait for the story to unfold. While it was a little slow to get the story going, it was still compelling enough to keep me going. The characters are interesting and from the very beginning I wanted to know more about them.

That was the main thing that frustrated me. I needed to know more about Joy, Dawson and Donnie when they were growing up. Before Joy and Donnie were a couple, how they became friends and their relationships with their families. I wanted to know how Joy turned out the way she did.

Joy was quite possibly my least favourite character, despite to sympathy I had for her. What she suffers at the hands of Donnie after Dawson leaves is horrible and I wouldn’t wish any of it on my worst enemy, however, there was a lot of blame placed by her at Dawson’s feet. Maybe it wasn’t done on purpose due to what she has been through, yet it was a little grating. Dawson also placed a lot of blame on himself rather than at Donnie’s hands. I kind of understand why he does this, but I wanted to knock their heads together to get some sense into the pair of them.

The secondary characters were quite possibility my favourites. Lex, Sherri, and Mikey were relateable and likeable. Again, I wanted to know more about them, and I hope there will be more about them.

While I had some issues with the book, I still rate it a five star because it was a page turner and I just wanted to know more. I wanted to know how it was going to end. I am looking forward to the next in the series.

 

1 Comment

Filed under ARC, contemporary, Review, Romance, Series, Suspense, Upcoming Release

One response to “Review – Deliverance – L.A Cotton & Jenny Siegal

  1. Pingback: Release Blitz & Giveaway – Deliverance – L.A. Cotton & Jenny Siegel | Mich's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

