Review – Come Home Again – Nana Malone

Synopsis:

Anything can be fixed with a little Duct Tape and sass…

At least that’s what celebrity fixer, Delilah Donovan, used to think. She prides herself on being able to handle anything. But when she’s asked to fix the new CEO of Synth Games, she never dreams she’ll come face to face with the only man to ever break her heart.

The past can’t always be fixed…

When a friend calls in a long ago favor, reformed hacker, Nate Williams, worries that his shady past will come back to haunt him. As acting CEO of Synth Games, he needs to make the world believe he’s CEO material. Too bad the one person who can help him is the one woman he had to leave behind.

Will Nate bury his demons for good or will his past dictate his future? Can Delilah rise to this challenge or will Nate shatter her heart…again.

51Fjd7SvoaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Review:

I’d never heard of Nana Malone, and I grabbed this book for free from Amazon. When I finally opened it to give it a go, I didn’t put it down for a few hours – and that was only to feed the kids and to walk the dog – after that, I was straight back to it.

Firstly, I really enjoyed the dynamics of the adoptive and foster family. I haven’t read many books in that vein that deal with it in this kind of way.

Secondly, the characters were top notch. Delilah Donovan is a woman striving to be the best she can possibly be, professionally, yet her own personal life is neglected. As a ‘fixer’ she must be available to her clients pretty much 24/7, which leaves her little time to herself. She’s aiming for promotion within the company as she knows she’s damn good at her job, then Nate walks into the office.

Nate Williams, a blast from the past – one she’d never expected to see again. He was her first love when her parents took him into their home, for him to disappear without a word and trace – is her new client. yeah, like that isn’t going to cause issues at all . . .

I have to admit, it wasn’t until I added the book to my shelves over on Goodreads that I realised this book was about an interacial couple. I only mention it simply because it was never made an issue by Malone as she concentrated on the story rather than bring any kind of politics into her writing. I applaud this and with the Donovan family having 12 siblings, I can’t wait to read more about them. In fact, I want them to adopt me too.

The story is a good pace and isn’t saturated with unnecessary sex scenes that do absolutely nothing to enhance the story. In fact these scenes are essential to the story as they allow Nate and Delilah rediscover each other, and what starts as hesitant and nervous as Delilah tries to remain professional soon becomes steamy and sensual, perfect for these characters.

The story and characters are believeable and relateable, and if Malone’s other books are this well written, I may have just found a new author to stalk – er, I mean enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Romance, Series

Leave a Reply

