Review – Desolate – Ker Dukey

Summary:

Ryan:
I was a son,
A friend,
A brother,
A psychopath.

Eighteen years of being in a psyche ward; I was released into the world. Things have changed, Blake is married to Melody and is a father to my new fixation, Cereus. My beautiful niece who knows nothing of my existence. When consequences of past sins begin playing tricks on me, old cravings demand to be satisfied.

There is no cure for my kind of sickness.

I am void of everything but obsession.
I can’t love,
I can’t feel,
I am Desolate.

Warning: this book contains dark themes and explicit sex, read with caution. Desolate is the second book to the international bebest-selling title,Empathy. Please read book one to truly enjoy this title.

23459304

Review:

3.5 Stars

I read Empathy in a matter of a day, and took a couple of days out to read this one as the first in the series really stayed with me. The darkness of the storyline and how Dukey wove an extremely realistic tale just wouldn’t leave me alone. So, I had very high hopes for Desolate. . . but somehow, it didn’t quite live up to them.

Beginning about 20 years after the first book ended, I was completely freaked out by the prologue. Knowing from Empathy what kind of character Ryan is and how his mind works, made the prologue even more chilling. This chapter raised my hopes even more.

Blake and Melody have moved on from the horror of Empathy, and have a teenage daughter, Cererus. Their life is pretty normal, and they seem happy. Yet, Cererus is a brat. I know she’s sixteen and going through teenage years, but jesus, I wanted to slap her. The way she spoke to Melody on regular occasions drove me insane, and throughout the story, she didn’t particularly redeem herself to me – until the very end . . . no spoilers here.

Although Ryan hasn’t been in contact with his brother, he’s still coming between them and Blake is on high alert, which affects their relationship, and Melody even thinks Blake is cheating on her. Reading Ryan’s POV only confirms that he has plans, and they aren’t going to be pretty.

Once again, Dukey switches POV without confusing the reader, which is a great skill. It helps that each character is so different, it’s not hard to differentiate between them. As the book moves forward, Ryan’s POV becomes, to me at least, the most interesting. After reading the first book, I had this idea of him in my mind, yet he begins to change my preconceptions of him – particularly when it comes to Cererus. Once again, only until the end.

I must admit, I was expecting certain things to happen between Ryan and his niece, and that freaked me out a little, so I’m glad Dukey didn’t go down that route. Even then, I also expected Cererus to give into the darkness that Ryan brought out in her, she was fully capable and I think in some ways it would have worked out slightly better.

While Desolate didn’t hold my attention and interest as much as Empathy, I still enjoyed the story and Dukey’s writing style is brilliant. I just felt that there was something missing – something I can’t quite work out what it is. I loved the darkness to the story, tinged by light, but I found myself putting it down a lot and often forgetting about it for a few days.

I will definitely read more in the series, and more by Dukey, I just felt that this particular book didn’t reach my expectations as Empathy was so good.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under British, contemporary, Mystery, Review, Series, Suspense, Thriller

Leave a Reply

