Review – Hush Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick

Summary:

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes tham at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgement.

6693473

3.5 Stars

Review:

3.5 stars

                                                                          3.5 stars

I’d heard great things about this book, and managed to pick up a second hand copy pretty cheap. It sat on my shelf for about six months beofre I picked it up. As someone who enjoys YA books quite a lot, I was expecting to be gripped from the first page. Sadly, I wasn’t blown away.

When we first meet Nora our narrator, she comes across as quite confident and self sufficient (especially as her mother is away a lot with work, leaving Nora home alone). That is until she’s paired with Patch, the new guy no one seems to know much about.

From the offset, Patch is mysterious and flirty, trying to get a reaction out of Nora, but he also – as we get further into the story – comes across as a little controlling. He reminded me a little of Edward Cullen, just without the self loathing. Nora wants nothing to do with him, at least not until she starts to feel threatened by someone hell bent on hurting her. Eventually, Patch slowly worms his way into her affections despite her not wanting it to happen.

While I really liked the author’s writing style as it was very easy to follow and her secondary characters are just as strong as the main, I couldn’t relate to Nora – for the simple fact that she annoyed me. If you feel threatened or are actually physically attacked, why the hell wouldn’t you tell your parent(s)? Especially of you are close? That baffled me completely, especially when it began to look as if Nora were a little crazy.

I liked the side story with Eliott and Jules, and I didn’t guess the twist at the end involving those two – so yay. Vee’s character was great, but in some ways she was a stronger character than Nora, but in others she was very dismissive of her best friend – typical teenage girl I guess.

All in all, it was a well written book, but it just didn’t grab me in the way other YA books have. I will read the rest in the series, but only if I can pick them up pretty cheap.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Angels, contemporary, Paranormal, Review, Romance, Series, Supernatural, YA

Leave a Reply

