Review – Tribulations and Truths – L. A. Cotton

Summary:

When Ana revealed her suspicions to Jackson about the circumstances surrounding his father’s death, she never expected it to be the catalyst for a series of events that could change everything. It was supposed to save him, not push him away. But now Ana is left watching the person she loves more than anything, lose himself to vengeance.

Jackson has spent most of his life loyal to the man he calls Uncle. But since learning that Marcus Donohue might have been responsible for the death of his father, Jackson is consumed with the need for revenge. Even if it means hurting the people he loves, and going against everything he believes in, to uncover what happened.

Will the truth finally set Jackson free or will it ruin his last chance at happiness with Ana… and a life out from under the shadows of the Donohues?

Tribulations will be overcome, truths will be revealed. Welcome to Chastity Falls.

25728185

Review:

Silver Stars 4

Thanks to my own writing, my reading of this ARC has been disrupted, but I’ve finally been able to sit down for a couple of hours and get through it.

While it is a fantastic ending to Jackson and Ana’s story in Chastity Falls, I have to admit that I struggled a little bit to get into it at first. I can’t put my finger on what the problem was, but once I got past it, I whizzed through the story, eating up every word.

Leaving off from book two, Salvation and Secrets, T&T gets us back into the action. Jackson and Ana have moved away from The Fallen and Marcus Donohue a little by getting their own place, but things are far from over. Jackson is hell bent on finding out the truth about his father’s death, and to be honest, I don’t blame him one bit.

This book, in my opinion, was the more intense out of the three in that there was a lot more tension between the characters, not just Jackson and Ana, yet it was lacking the “Oh my God, there goes my heart” gut-wrenching moments that the first two in the series had. This isn’t a bad thing because it’s the series coming to a close, well for these two characters anyway, and it can’t all be “let me rip my heart out and sob myself to sleep” as it’s tying up all the loose ends that need to be dealt with.

Speaking of all these loose ends, Cotton ties them up brilliantly. Truths are indeed revealed and all the tribulations our characters are dealt are overcome, yet I have to admit, not always in the way I expected. She still managed to keep me guessing in places, especially when I didn’t expect it. Even the supporting cast of characters had their ‘issues’ dealt with. . . except Braiden. There’s a little teaser about him that excites me.

I have loved the journey Cotton has taking us on with Ana and Jackson in Chastity Falls, and I can’t wait to see where else she can take this series – if she does with more full novels. There is so much more she can explore with it and the characters involved.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, contemporary, Favourites, NA, New Release, Review, Romance, Series

Leave a Reply

