Review – A Pound of Flesh – Sophie Jackson

Summary:

Lose your heart to your new bad boy book boyfriend. Wes Carter – sexy, edgy, behind bars, with emotional scars as permanent as the ink on his skin, just waiting to be healed by love…

Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find this powerful love story utterly addictive and unforgettable.

Their love is forbidden. But won’t be denied… Can true love heal the deepest scars?

For Kat Lane, teaching inmates at a New York prison is her way of upholding the legacy of her beloved father, murdered fifteen years ago. But when new student Wes Carter walks into her classroom, she’s shaken by the strength of her attraction to him. Carter is as handsome as he is dangerous, as mysterious as he is quick-witted – and he ensures people keep their distance. Yet vibrant Kat bypasses his defences and challenges him to reveal the real man behind the intimidating reputation. As their emotional barriers crumble, their inescapable but forbidden feelings cannot be ignored. But will Kat’s discovery of Carter’s role on the night her father died force them apart…or bind their hearts for ever?

A Pound of Flesh is a tale of loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds, introducing an irresistible bad boy hero…

24928846

Review:

Red Stars 5

 

I feel ashamed that it’s taken me so long to sort my review of this book out. I’d originally planned to take a couple of days to get my thoughts clear in my head. That was about a month ago. Life just got in the way.

Better late than never… right?

I actually received an ARC of this from the publisher. So, thank you to them and Sophie Jackson. I shall treasure it (Especially after I get it signed in Birmingham next month)

So, anyway. The first thing I need to say is I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK! I actually started the original fic version, but for some reason, never finished it once it was completed, so I kinda knew the story, but never knew how it ended. That din’t bother me one iota. Reading this story was a joy, and I devoured it within a day or two.

Our main characters of Wes (Carter) and Kat are introduced in such a way that has you wondering how their lives can cross paths again, then BOOM, it’s done in such a way, that you can’t work out how the story’s going to move. These two, and the supporting cast, are extremely well written and realistic that any reader can imagine themselves being friends with them.

I have to admit, I didn’t like Austin from the beginning, and when his relationship to Carter is revealed, I kept waiting for him to do something, but it never happened. That  is my only complaint about this book. The Austin side of things felt a little anticlimactic. Not too shabby if that’s my only complaint!

The situations these characters find themselves in are more circumstance than out and out choice, which is what makes this book all the more believeable, and the side story of Carter’s friend Max was something I know people have suffered. It hit a bit of a nerve, but the entire thing is dealt with in a classy and sympathetic way, you couldn’t help but want to read on. The twists to the story certainly didn’t hinder me in any way!

I have to admit, I can’t wait for the follow up books and novellas to be released. This ‘verse that Jackson has created is one I want to visit time and time again!

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, British, contemporary, Favourites, New Release, Promo, Review, Romance, Series, Suspense

Leave a Reply

