Review – Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover

Summary:

When Tate Collins finds airline pilot Miles Archer passed out in front of her apartment door, it is definitely not love at first sight. In fact, they wouldn’t even consider themselves friends. But what they do have is an undeniable mutual attraction.

He doesn’t want love and she doesn’t have time for a relationship, but their chemistry cannot be ignored. Once their desires are out in the open, they realise they have the perfect set-up, as long as Tate can stick to two rules – never ask about the past and don’t expect a future.

Tate convinces herself she’s ok with it, but soon realises that it’s harder than she thought. Will she be able to say no to her sexy pilot when he lives just next door?

22818192

Review:

Silver Stars 5

I have been meaning to read this book for… forever. I’ve seen people rave about it both online and in person. They have laughed, cried, and pimped it out like crazy. It wasn’t until a friend gave me a copy of the book when she realised she had 2 copies, that I dove in. It took me a matter of about five hours to read the book in it’s entirety.

Tate – I loved her. She was no nonsense and cared for people. Maybe she cared too much, but that’s the way she is. I adored the interaction she has with Cap. Their unlikely friendship was the humour needed to lighten the heartache and angst of the rest of the story, and it never once felt fake or forced. Hoover writes very natural dialogue which shows especially between these two.

Miles – I have to admit, for the first half of the books, I hated to love him. Yes, he was gorgeous and stuff, but let’s be real. He was an ass to Tate. Yes, he never lied to her and was always honest about how he felt about their relationship from the moment it began, but I still wanted to punch him now and then.  The flashbacks are heartbreaking, simply because you as the reader knows something bad is going to happen. It has to be something bad to make Miles the way he is – and these are the main reason I kept reading, I needed to know what was happening in his head and whether Tate would help him through his issues.

While the ending is a little predictable, the journey on which Hoover takes the reader to get there is wonderful, and to me that is important. Yes, we may well be able to guess how a book is going to end, but if we are still compelled to turn the page to see how the characters get there, surely that author has done their job well, right? (Oooh, I may put a post about this on my author blog)

I’ve only read one book by Hoover before this, and that was a novella. I love her easy style of writing, and can see how she has become so popular in what some see as a short space of time (three years isn’t in the grand scheme of things, but she’s also not an overnight success). It’s easy to become addicted to her books, and if I’m not careful, I will splurge all the monies on them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chick Lit, contemporary, Favourites, Review, Romance

Leave a Reply

