Review – New Point – Olivia Luck

Summary:

Imagine the worst day of your life. Immerse yourself in the details. How did you feel? Who were you with? What were the consequences?

Recalling my darkest day is as simple as typing a few search terms into a web browser. It only took thirty minutes for me to become the center of a media frenzy that caught the attention of an entire country.

So I hid.

Nine months later and I’m getting better. Moved two hours from home, landed my dream job, and met a delicious new guy.

Healing is that simple, right?

Wrong.

Note: New Point is the start of a standalone series with connected characters, but independent story lines.

image

Review:

I read this book without having looked at the blurb or other reviews on Amazon or Goodreads, so I knew nothing about the story. I’m actually glad I did, because I didn’t have any preconceived notions about the story, considering some of the subject matter.

Zoe’s background is released to us in pieces via flashback, which prolongued the mystery and intrigue as to why she was suffering anxiety. I read the full ‘reveal’ through my fingers and holding my breath. Luck manages to create an atmosphere, in both the flashbacks and the main story, which suck you in from the very first page. When Zoe thinks back to her experiences, her fear and pain absolutely radiate off the page.

From Blake’s interview, right through until the end of the book, I held my breath while reading through my fingers or with my hand in front of my mouth in shock. A book hasn’t kept me guessing right until the end for a very long time.

Another thing Luck does extremely well is creating visuals in the reader’s minds. Her descriptions of landscapes and her characters. I really felt as if I were there in New Point with Zoe. The only character I didn’t enjoy reading was Lacey, who I felt was a bit too cliche compared to all the others.

The entire book is extremely well written (bar a few minor editing errors), which deals with a subject many would be wary of dealing with, but it is does in such a sympathetic and classy way. I will most certainly be reading more in this series.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Tour, contemporary, Mystery, Review, Romance, Series, Suspense, Thriller

Leave a Reply

