Review – Monster in his Eyes – J. M. Darhower

Summary:

Ignazio Vitale is not a good man.

I suspect it, the first time I see him, sense the air of danger that surrounds the man. He has a way of commanding attention, of taking control, of knowing what I’m thinking before I even do.

It’s alarming and alluring. It’s dark and deadly. It’s everything I’ve ever wanted but the last thing I truly need. Obsession.

It doesn’t take him long to draw me into his web, charming me into his bed and trapping me in his life, a life I know nothing about until it’s too late. He has secrets, secrets I can’t fathom, secrets that make it so I can’t walk away, no matter how much I beg him to let me go. I see it sometimes in his eyes, a darkness that’s both terrifying and thrilling. He’s a monster, wrapped up in a pretty package, and what I find when I unmask him changes everything.

I want to hate him.

Sometimes, I do.

But it doesn’t stop me from loving him, too.

unnamed (1)

Review:

I’ve read a few, if not all, of Darhower’s books and usually fall in love with them within the first few pages. That didn’t happen with Monster in his Eyes. I don’t know why, but it took me a while to feel comfortable with the story.

I think the main issue I had was Karissa. She’s 18 and has led a very sheltered life due to her mother moving them from town to town for reasons unknown to both Karissa and the reader. This makes it understandable, when she meets Naz who is twice her age, she is drawn into his web.

Throughout the story I was yelling at her to get away from him, to not trust him, and to run back to her mother, but she didn’t. While he spoils her, he belittles her in the bedroom, or so it appeared to me.

I may not have liked the idea of their relationship, both characters intrigued me and it was them who made me continue reading the book, needing to know what was going to happen.

After the events at the end of the book, it will be interesting to see how things progress in the next book, and I will definitely be reading it.

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, contemporary, Erotica, Review, Romance, Suspense

Leave a Reply

