Review – Fractured – Dani Atkins

Summary:

Rachel’s life is perfect. A handsome boyfriend, great friends and the prospect of starting at university in a few weeks means she’s never been happier. But in a single heartbeat her world falls apart forever.

Five years later, Rachel is still struggling to come to terms with the tragedy that changed everything. Returning to her hometown for the first time in years, she finds herself consumed by thoughts of the life that could have been. But when a sudden fall lands her in hospital, Rachel awakes to discover that the life she had dreamed about just might be real after all.

Unable to trust her own memories, Rachel begins to be drawn further into this new world where the man she lost is alive and well but where she is engaged to be married to someone else . . .

FRACTURED is a heart-warming tale of love and second chances which will leave you wondering whether two very different storylines can ever lead to the same happy ending.

618ItNcQMVL._SL1000_

Review:

Sliding Door is one of my favourite films because of the way it addresses the ‘what if’ element of life we all suffer from. What if I’d managed to get that train? What if I hadn’t gone out that evening? The ideas are endless. So, when I read the summary for Fractured, I couldn’t wait to read it.

Atkins approaches the dual life aspect of the story in a way I hadn’t considered before. As I was reading, I kept expecting a very obvious split in time, but it never came. The duality to Rachel’s life is quite subtle, but it’s enough to make her, and some of those around her, think she’s crazy. Why is she with the man she’s with? Why isn’t her dad dying from cancer? Why is her best friend still alive? These are just some of the questions going through her mind.

There are other moments that get Rachel, and the reader thinking. Like the mystery of her dad’s aftershave lingering. It’s the little nuances such as this that kept me reading. I needed to know what the hell was going on.

The ending I hadn’t seen coming until I’d seen a spoiler online. I was a bit miffed that the twist had been revealed, but it didn’t ruin my enjoyment of the ending. I admit, I shed a few tears which is always a good thing. There’s nothing better than ripping a visceral and emotional reaction from a reader.

The characters are realistic. There’s nothing worse than, as a reader, all characters being perfect. Atkins has given all of her characters flaws and vices which resonate with the reader. I will admit that the events with Matt were a little obvious and I guessed that would happen, but it wasn’t a bad thing. Chick Lit tends to follow a certain formula which those who read the genre regularly, have come to expect. They know the journey and it’s outcome, but it’s the details that make it enjoyable, and this book certainly was enjoyable.

I will certainly read more by Atkins again.

Leave a comment

Filed under British, Chick Lit, contemporary, Review, Romance

Leave a Reply

