Where We Fell – Amber L. Johnson

Summary:

Oliver Bishop is having a seriously bad day. With one diagnosis, his life suddenly has an expiration date. Confused about the numbness he has to the idea of it, he unwittingly puts himself directly in the sights of a girl that just may give him a reason to fight – and to live.

19769941

Review:

I bought this book after reading the summary. I thought it was going to be a massive tearjerker in the same vein as My Sister’s Keeper, but it wasn’t. It was much more uplifting than that.

I honestly expected to be snot-sobbing from the first page until the last, but I wasn’t. Yes, I did shed a tear and I had a lump in my throat throughout the entire book, but I also smiled and laughed, particularly at Hannah’s character. She was a complete breath of fresh air and the perfect companion to Oliver on his journey and fight against his illness.

There was angst, of course, but it never took over the narrative of the story or cause the reader to need to take a step away. This is a sign of how well Johnson weaved her words into a story that, ultimately is about hope and fighting for life.

17 is an age where everyone has their entire life in front of them and they are embarking on a big adventure. Oliver’s plans change with his diagnoses, and I thought at first, that he was beginning to give up. Let’s be honest, why shouldn’t he? What would you do at 17 if you were told you had cancer? Personally, I think I would have thrown an almighty strop of “why me?”, but by chance he meets Hannah. From then on, he’s given a reason to fight for his life.

Although it’s a short book at 92 pages, Where We fell packs a punch and is full of emotion. I will certainly look out for more from the author!

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Friendship, NA, Review, Romance

Leave a Reply

