UnEnchanted – Chanda Hahn

Summary:

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.

To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

13402447

Review:

This was a freebie from Amazon that I managed to get round to over the Christmas holidays at my parents’s house. I couldn’t remember the blurb so I pretty much went in without knowing much about the story, which was great as everything was a surprise. I felt as if I were learning things when Mina was.

Mina is likeable because of her shyness. I think most women or girls reading this story would be able to relate to her when it comes to her speaking to Brody, her crush.  I know I’ve been there, many times. nan, her best friend, is also a great and likeable character. Let’s face it, we all knew a Nan and wished we could be her.

The pace of the story is great as Hahn mixes up the history of Mina’s family and working it into the present day story. As a reader, I never felt rushed or struggled to keep up with the information provided. Hahn was able to weave everything up nicely. Even the addition of new characters, such as Jared, was seamless and enhanced the flow of the story.

I first though that the story was a modern retelling of a fairy tale, which isn’t something I usually enjoy, but it’s not that at all. Its a new take on the history of the borthers Grimm and their tales which was very well thought out and executed. I will definitely read more in this series once I can afford to buy the books as I want to know more about Mina (and Jared!)

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Paranormal, Review, Supernatural, YA

Leave a Reply

