The Guardians – T.M. Franklin – Guest Post & Review

Horizontal-Banner

I’m excited to post this post as I stumbled across the first book in the series, MORE, on Netgalley. I didn’t get round to reading it straight away, but when i did, i instantly wanted MORE! (see what I did there?) I was so happy when the author told me that there were going to be further books in the series. And now it’s almost time for book 2, The Guardians, to be released. You can read my review of MORE here.

Summary:

Ava’s life is . . . Complicated

After all, it’s not every day a girl learns she’s not entirely human, or unlocks hidden powers strong enough to make even the First Race sit up and take notice. After surviving an attempted kidnapping and standing up to the Race’s Ruling Council, Ava Michaels returns to college and what she hopes is a normal life. But Ava quickly realizes that for her, normal may not even exist anymore.

In fact, the Council wants her under their control, and they’re not the only ones. The mysterious Rogues have a plan of their own, and it turns out Ava’s a big part of it, whether she wants to be or not.

On top of that, her new relationship is tested in ways she never expected. Her boyfriend, Caleb Foster, has disappeared—accused of betraying the Race—and Ava herself stands implicated in a crime she didn’t commit.

Clearing their names will mean uncovering a web of deceit and intrigue with Ava woven right in the center. To unravel the strands, she joins forces with some unlikely allies; a Protector who once haunted her nightmares, a young girl with secrets as unexpected as Ava’s, and a group of rebel Guardians who have their own fight against the Council.

Together they stand in a battle to find the truth, bring Caleb home, and secure Ava’s freedom—not to mention save her life.

17561496

Firstly, I asked T.M. Franklin about comments from readers that were her favourite to date. Here’s her response:

Reader Comments that Make Me Squeal, Scream, and Stand Up & Shout!

I think every author kind of reads reviews like they watch horror movies—huddled up on the couch and maybe peeking between their fingers. You know you need to look so you know what’s happening, but you’re not sure exactly what you’re going to find.

No matter how many times we authors remind ourselves that not everyone is going to like what we write, we still want them to! So, when we do get a positive comment, it’s like finally being able to breathe.

Mich asked me to share some of my favorite responses from readers. So, in no particular order, here are a few that especially touched me.

“I adored Ava. She was no whiny, complaining, faint of heart heroine.” –Andrea

I love it when readers love my characters – especially Ava from MORE and now, The Guardians. In her, I tried to create a strong heroine, but I wanted her to be relatable as well. She’s not perfect, and she doesn’t always make the right decisions. She does the best she can with the information she has at the moment. She’s brave, and she deals with whatever life throws at her (and believe me, it’s a lot!) with a put-on-your-big-girl-panties-and-deal-with-it kind of attitude. I love it when readers see that in her!

“I couldn’t put it down and found myself stuck in the story.” –Joc

To me, this is the highest compliment – for someone to become immersed in the story. It’s what every author wants. I know how much I love to find a book that I just can’t put down and can kind of get lost in. It’s such a thrill to hear from a reader who feels that way about my book. I’m a little awed and a lot humbled when I get a comment like this.

“I did not see any of the twists and turns coming, which made them all the more exciting.” –Karen, Quirky Gurl Media

This always gets a fist pump from me. I love it when people are surprised.

“I could imagine that people like this DO exist!” –TuliAnnie

I squeal when people say this to me, because that’s what’s fun for me when creating the world of MORE and the First Race. The whole idea is that it’s possible these people could be out there. There could be an ancient Race of superhumans on Earth who stay out of sight for the most part. Maybe they were responsible for Stonehenge or the pyramids. Maybe they lent a helping hand when we needed a vaccine for polio or a way to split the atom. There could be Half-Breeds living among us. When people are able to imagine that the MORE world could happen…well, then I feel like I’ve done my job. 🙂

 Really, though every comment and review from a reader is precious to me. That they took the time to give my stories a try, and then to tell me what they thought? Well, that’s pretty amazing, and I’m so grateful to every one of them. I’m not sure if readers (who aren’t authors) realize how much that feedback impacts an author. We sit in a little bubble for the most part, writing our words – and those reviews are the one time we get to hear if someone’s hearing what we’re saying. It’s invaluable, and so, so appreciated!

My Review:

It took me a little to get into this book because it had been so long since I’d read the first. So, i put it down and read MORE again. It really helped as there are so many quirky little details to this world and to The race, that are important to Franklin’s stories that they really should be fresh in your mind.

Caleb is as adorable as ever in this book. He still wears his ‘geeky’ face to those around him which endears him to me. I like my book boyfriends to be thinkers with a inner strength rather than out and out brawn. Although, he does have that too in his natural form, but that’s ok.

Ava is also a character that I enjoyed reading about. Unlike many heroines in this genre annoy me for a number of reasons, but not her. She’s sassy, knows her own mind, and fights for what she wants/needs/loves. Just how you want a female lead to be. I’m sick to death of the ‘damsel in distress – must be rescued by a hot, rich hunk’ types and Ava is as far from that as you can get.

The relationship between the 2 is tested when Caleb disappears and Ava is suddenly being accused of all sort of crazy stuff. The way Franklin writes most of this makes the reader consider both Ava and Caleb’s innocence. I mean, if they’re questioning themselves, then maybe they did do it… right?

I honestly can’t wait until the release of the next book because the world that Franklin has created is one that sucks you in and doesn’t quite let you go, even when the story is over. If you like a paranormal story that makes you consider it could be possible, sort of, then this is the series for you!

About the Author:

TM_FranklinT.M. Franklin started out her career writing non-fiction in a television newsroom. Graduating with a B.A. in Communications specializing in broadcast journalism and production, she worked for nine years as a major market television news producer, and garnered two regional Emmy Awards, before she resigned to be a full-time mom and part-time freelance writer. After writing and unsuccessfully querying a novel that she now admits, “is not that great,” she decided to follow the advice of one of the agents who turned her down—write some more and get better at it. Her first published novel, MORE, was born during National Novel Writing month, a challenge to write a novel in thirty days.

She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, Mike, is mom to two boys, Justin and Ryan, and has an enormous black dog named Rocky who’s always lying nearby while she’s writing. Whether he’s soothed by the clicking of the computer keys or just waiting for someone to rub his belly is up for debate.

In addition to MORE and The Guardians, Franklin penned the Amazon best-selling short story, Window, as well as another short story, A Piece of Cake, which appears in the Romantic Interludes anthology.

Connect with T.M. Franklin

Website | Facebook | Twitter    | Goodreads

Last but not least, here’s a giveaway!

969440_4895372670742_1698565550_n

2 Comments

Filed under Author to Author, Blog Tour, contemporary, giveaway, Guest Post, New Release, Paranormal, Romance, Supernatural, TWCS, YA

2 responses to “The Guardians – T.M. Franklin – Guest Post & Review

  1. Pingback: Review – Twelve – T. M. Franklin | Mich's Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Release Blitz – MORE Trilogy – T. M. Franklin | Mich's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

