Fall Fires – Guest Post – M. C. Rayne

image (1)

In honour of the Fall Fires blog tour, I decided to give the authors the same guest post, and get their insight into how they picture their characters.

This time is the turn of M. C. Rayne, author of Our Walk to Remember

Summary:

For the Robinson-Shae family, an annual charity walk means more to them than any expensive holiday abroad. After all, it’s where Elisha’s fathers met, and this year it’s even more important to her. Sammy couldn’t make it this time, so she asks Charlie to share memories of how they met, and fell in love.

our-walk-to-remember

When you write, do you have a specific picture of the characters in your mind that you work from, or do you like to allow them freedom to grow as you write? Also, does it bother you if your readers see you characters in a different way?

When I start to plan a story, which usually just revolves around the plot and not how it will progress or end, I never know what my characters will look like; or how they will act. The first thing I do is name my main characters, repeat this over and over in my head to check I love it, before starting chapter one. So many times I have almost completed a story, and at the very last second I change a characters name, because I either get bored of it – or find it has been used by a friend.

Currently I have a love of short names, ones which can’t be abbreviated in an annoying way. If I use a long name, then I normally keep this the way throughout the story, shortening only in conversation – because so many of us have an obsession with shortening names.

For the appearance of a character, I don’t like to use the someone who is described as beautiful and without a single flaw. Nobody is perfect, and although another character may describe them this way through their eyes, this is only skin deep. I like to use characters that have levels emotionally, and yes they may be noted as attractive, they have some darkness living inside them, or they don’t see what the mirror shows. If I were to use model type character I know I would get bored, and give up on the story. I need a character I can get my teeth into, one with either a background which means to haunt their days, or one hiding a small part of themselves they feel is ugly. We all have these parts about ourselves, it’s how life is. No single person is the same as another – we are all unique.

I write best when my fingers are running on a tangent across my keyboard, or when I am penning a story so fast that my pen simply cannot keep up. Sometimes when I read back, I struggle to get it to make sense – but its all fun. Because I work in this way, I seem to get down what the boys in my head are telling me to write. I know most people say this, but I do believe my characters write themselves. I guess they tell me how they want to look, and act.

When it comes to appearance, I dont really mind if someone visions my character to look differently to how they do when I describe them. This is something I do all the time. I have read so many books, and created an image of the characters in my mind, and when others talk about them, or I see them in movies they are never the way I thought. So often I watch a film based on the book I love, and although the author may detail the character with blond hair and blue eyes, and the actor may look this way, I will still find myself disagreeing with my minds eye had created.

A writer can detail what they want to get down, but all our minds are different and we create in our heads what we see and its this image which stays with us.

About the author:

M. C. Rayne got into writing after the passing of his mother, and used it as an outlet to get through the difficult time. He never really thought about becoming an author, but since putting pen to paper he has never looked back

Currently he lives in Leeds with his two best friends Dae and Pete, and his guinea pig, Bean. He spends a lot of time reading and writing, and far too much time procrastinating online.

Blog http://simplymcrayne.blogspot.co.uk

FB https://www.facebook.com/pages/MC-Rayne-Author-Page/534108516611284?ref=hl

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7255637.M_C_Rayne

Twitter https://twitter.com/SimplyMatt2

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, British, Compilation, Guest Post, M/M, New Release, Novella, Romance

2 responses to “Fall Fires – Guest Post – M. C. Rayne

  1. Thank you for having me on your blog xxx

Leave a Reply

