Fall Fires – Guest Post – Jude ouvrard

image (1)

In honour of the Fall Fires blog tour, I decided to give the authors the same guest post, and get their insight into how they picture their characters.

This time is the turn of Jude Ouvrard, author of Wonderland.

Summary:

Lucas Colton is far too young to go through all this pain but meeting poetry teacher, Preston Davidson, changed everything. His life went from heartbreak to joyful and then, from friendship to love. The impact Preston had on Lucas’ life was mesmerising.  What would you do if you knew you may not have a tomorrow?

wonderland

When you write, do you have a specific picture of the characters in your mind that you work from, or do you like to allow them freedom to grow as you write? Also, does it bother you if your readers see you characters in a different way? 

It doesn’t bother me if the readers see them differently. We all have a different imagination and I’m not here to judge anyone. I would actually like to have a vision of the way they see my character. It could be interesting. I always create a silhouette of the characters in my head when I read a book and I imagine them interacting with each other as the story goes. I think this where the magic happens. You create your own little movie, your own little world. 

I don’t have a specific picture of my characters when I start writing, the characters built itself through the process. Sometimes I need to take notes of their hair and eye colors because it gets confusing after a while. The details of their eyes are very important for me because it’s one of the first you see when you meet someone. The eyes play an important role, the connection, the desire, the hate, the sadness. It’s all in the eyes. 

«I turned around, astonished by the green of the stranger’s eyes. I had never seen that eye color before; it was a vivid, lime green. I could smell his cologne from where I was standing. It was a mix of citrus and vanilla. The man’s short hair was the same color as the sand; the sun reflected on it, making it shine. He was gorgeous, with perfect white teeth, full lips, and a smile that left me breathless. I could have stared at him all day. At that point, I thought I must be dreaming.­» Under the Sun 

«A girl with deep, red hair sitting before me had tears running down her pale, freckled cheeks. The men avoided my gaze, choosing to look at their desks or the floor, even their own hands, in an effort not to make eye contact with me. Then there was Preston. Leaning against the back wall, his clear, blue eyes were wide and filled with shock, sadness, and hurt. I saw it all, but I also spotted the compassion and caring. I hadn’t lied; I’d told him I was sick. Preston hadn’t known how sick, but he’d known something wasn’t right. I walked back to my seat, keeping my attention on him. I smiled, not knowing what else to do. His eyes fixed on mine; he returned the gesture and nodded.» Wonderland

These are two examples of a scene mostly described by the look in the characters eyes. This is how I like to write! I let the reader see the emotions. 

Also, I like to see the evolution of a character. If at the beginning of the book, the character is sad and depressed, I want him/her to be the happiest person by the time the story end. I believe the evolution of the main character is what keep the reader entertain and what makes him/her enjoy your book.  

About the Author:

jude-ouvrardJude was born and raised in a small village named Lacolle. She now lives in Montreal, Canada. She is the proud mother of a beautiful four year old son, and has spent the last twelve years with her partner, Cedric.

French is her native language, but she prefers to write in her second language, English.

Besides working full time for a Title Insurance Company and being a mother, Jude has a passion for books, both reading and writing them.

She is currently working on a novel called Body, Ink, and Soul. Coming soon!

Also by Jude Ouvrard:

Under the Sun, Heat Wave: Volume Two

website/blog: www.judeouvrard.com

Twitter; www.twitter.com/judeouvrard

www.twitter.com/authorjude_o

Facebook page:https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jude-Ouvrard/217369475054540?ref=hl

Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7055526.Jude_Ouvrard

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/judeouvrard

About me: http://about.me/judeouvrard

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Jude-Ouvrard/e/B00E3OGKUS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1379095938&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble:http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/jude-ouvrard

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Tour, Compilation, contemporary, M/M, New Release, Novella, Romance

Leave a Reply

