Desolation – Travis Simmons

424638_609657805713002_217901084_n

Desolation

by author Travis Simmons

Asher St Paul thought it was just a typical zombie apocalypse like in the movies, until the necromancers crawled out of the woodwork.

Since the undead have chased the living into hiding, the necromancers are able to roam freely in a new America of their making. Asher is seeking safe harbor. The need for safety is what drove him from his home in Philadelphia Pennsylvania before it was shelled. He has searched from quarantine to quarantine, always finding them overrun with zombies until he hears of The Refuge, a military compound in Binghamton New York.

With his family and lover lain to rest by his own hand, he has nothing left to lose and gives everything he has to reach the safe haven. But questions arise when he reaches The Refuge, mainly, how has he been able to sustain multiple zombie bites and not change? He thinks he has found safety in the military compound turned quarantine, but he was wrong. Even now there is a necromancer trying to make The Refuge their kingdom of the dead.

226758_609657739046342_1681870238_n

Here’s a quick guest post about Travis’s top 10 Favourite Books:

Top Ten Favorite Books

I am a huge fan of books. Surprised right? But lately I have had an issue of not being able to get into anything I am reading. It has nothing to do with the books, but more to do with me. I often really enjoy a book and then almost halfway through I will get bored, and give it up, or I will see another book I really want to read and toss the current book aside for the new one. For that reason I am being really picky when it comes to what books I read, if I find parts in the first few pages that have me scoffing or my mind wandering, I toss it aside.

With that said, there are some books that are my all-time favorites. And because this is my top ten list, there might be some series that fall into a space instead of an individual book.

  1. Planet of the Apes ~ I love Planet of the Apes, and I am not really sure why. I think it is interesting on so many levels, and not just because the story was awesome. I think the whole idea was awesome. It really opens your eyes to how primates are treated, and what might happen if they ever evolved further.
  2. The Last Herald Mage ~ This is a series, the books are Magic’s Pawn, Magic’s Promise and Magic’s Price. I read these books when I was a teenager, and I still love them. There was a time in my life I was struggling with who I was as a gay teen, and Vanyel’s story really helped me.
  3. Dragonlance Chronicles ~ The Dragonlance Chronicles were some of the first fantasy books I read for pleasure. Actually, they were the first books I read for pleasure. I love them dearly, though I can’t seem to read them the same way now as I used to. The stories just don’t grip me now like they used to, but I am still filled with that childlike wonder and magic whenever I think of them. They were really great books. I actually used to write fan fiction based on them before I knew there was such a thing as fan fiction.
  4. Dragonlance Legends ~ I didn’t get into reading the Dragonlance series like my cousin did. He had every book ever written at the time, and he had read them all. I did read a couple series, and Legends was one of them. This book dealt with time travel. Two twins go into the past. One of the twins is already evil, the other one is sickeningly good. There is also a priest who goes back with them, and she falls in love with the evil mage brother. A great series!
  5. The Sword of Truth ~ This started out as an amazing series, and kind of petered out in my opinion. I did read the entire series, and it was really good, definitely makes my top ten.
  6. Lykaia ~ I really enjoyed this book. It was about werewolves, had Greek myth mixed in and a strong female lead. Ironically it was a book with a strong female lead and werewolves without the fluff and romance.
  7. Elantris ~ I have to admit I haven’t read this entire book yet. BUT Brandon Sanderson has built such a rich world in this book that it will no doubt make the top ten when I am done.
  8. A Wrinkle in Time ~ I love this book. It is amazing. That being said, I can no longer read this book. I have read it five times, and now that I try reading it for the sixth, I find that Meg screams a lot and that is just a little thing that seems to weigh strongly on my mind when I am reading.
  9. Maus I and II ~ These are graphic novels that use animals as different factions in WWII. The Jews are portrayed as mice while the Germans are portrayed as cats. We have the main character who is a Jewish writer interviewing his father who had lived through the holocaust. It is an amazing story of one man’s survival and the coming together of a family at odds.
  10. Harry Potter ~ Certainly not the least favorite. I loved Harry Potter like I haven’t loved many other books. The detail JK used in creating the series made it real, the writing style made you love it. I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to live at Hogwarts, even when Voldemort was invading!

 

About the Author

Travis is the author of The Bonds of Blood, the first book in his epic fantasy series The Revenant Wyrd Saga. He has also written a young adult novel called A Lament of Moonlight which is book one of his pre-apocalypse series The Harbingers of Light. He is currently seeking publication for the first book of a third series, a zombie novel called Desolation. When he isn’t writing he is helping his family and trying to live a normal, under the radar life. His interests lie in cooking, gardening, green living, and human rights advocacy. He is a huge supporter of the Trevor Project and all agencies that seek to preserve natural resources and protect pets from abuse.

Contact Details

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Blog Tour, contemporary, Fantasy, Jitterbug, Paranormal, Zombie

Leave a Reply

