Magick Weaved on a Samhain Eve – V. J. Chisholm

Blurb:

Alexia is a lively, single, sassy and sexy coven witch, somehow she finds herself and her sex life ( or lack of it) the hot topic of her fellow coven sisters after one of her covens full moon meetings. Add the mix the discovery of an old spell. Alexia’s life starts to change very quickly from the moment that a spirit named Lance appears and comes into her life. Throw in the heat of the full moon and a hint of destiny, life will never be the same again for Alexia.

12966697

Review:

Like most women, I am not averse to reading a short story/novella that gets my heart racing a little. Unfortunately, this one stopped a little short.

I really liked the idea of the story concept and was really enjoying it, but I expected a little more… action I guess you could call it.

Leading up to Samhain and the spell to summon the spirit, Lance, I was really drawn into the story and the character of  Alexia. I’ve always been fascinated with witches and their covens, so with a bit of added spice, I was flying through the pages.

When Lance appears and informs Alexia of what she can expect, I was expecting to be brought along for a wild ride, but I wasn’t. There was a lot of talk and a little kissing, then nothing.

Now, as an author myself, I never write full blown sex scenes. I always always fade to black as usually, full on scenes don’t fit my stories, but I am not averse to them at all, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed in the abrupt scene change in this story.

Chisholm really does create a spell on the reader in her build up, but I personally was left wanting a little more.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under contemporary, Novella, Romance, Supernatural

Leave a Reply

