Naturally, Charlie (ARC) – S.L. Scott

Firstly, I would like to thank the author and the publishers for sending me the ARC of this book. I had a read a review on another site (http://itlnbrt.com/) and was dying to read it. So, when the author asked on Twitter who was willing to read and review it, I jumped at the chance.

So, the blurb:

Twenty-five year old Charlotte “Charlie” Barrow is caught between her old life and the one she is beginning to build when she crosses paths with a handsome stranger on the subway. Not looking for romance, she closes her heart off to the possibilities of love. With a knack for mishaps, Charlie maintains her sense of humor while befriending the kind stranger who seems to be there at all the right times.

New York freelance writer, Charlie Adams, is forging his own path beyond the expectations of the society circles of his childhood. Rejecting family money, and fast-lane friends, he is snubbed by his family as he follows his own compass to a life more extraordinary.

Through a coincidence of events, they come to rely on each other for comfort. This is the tale of two Charlies learning to trust again while fighting their fates to create their own destiny.

Usually, I’m not a fan of alternating points of views in a novel as it’s easy to get confused, but as the two Charlie’s each have their own distinctive voices it’s easy to keep up with them in this book.

I have to admit that I often wanted to give the pair of them a clout on the back of the head, but as they are both so endearing I managed to keep going to see how it would work out for them.

My favourite aspect of this book has to be the easy banter between the main characters.  Even when they are feeling at their worst, they still manage to make each other smile.  This kind of wit isn’t easy to write, for this I commend Scott.  I highly recommend that you buy this book once it’s available to buy.

I ADORE this cover

3 Comments

Filed under ARC, contemporary, Friendship, Romance

3 responses to “Naturally, Charlie (ARC) – S.L. Scott

  1. LOL… I too wanted to smack them both and tell them to wake up and smell the coffee quite often.
    And I too loved their easy banter, it made them so likable and real.
    Love the post!

Leave a Reply

