Love Unscripted (ARC) – Tina Reber

Blurb:

At six foot two, with dirty blond hair, blue eyes, and an incredible body, Ryan has every girl in Seaport swooning—every girl but Taryn Mitchell. Nursing a recent heartbreak, this small town pub owner believes men are best kept at a distance. But when Ryan unexpectedly bursts into her pub, she can’t help but be drawn in by his humor, charm and intense magnetism. 

I started reading this book and when I began to struggle, I decided to have a look at reviews it has received. It seems as if this book is like Marmite, you either love it or hate it. There doesn’t appear to be any kind of middle ground.

Like many others, I struggled with the author feeling as if she had to explain every little detail to the reader as if they were unable to read between the lines.  Authors need to realise that the imagination is an extremely powerful tool and usually the reader can visualise a situation better than it can be detailed so it is often best to give minimal details and leave the rest to the reader.

The dialogue felt very stilted in places and read as if it were forced.  Imagine you have just been introduced to someone who never started a conversation and only gave one word answers to questions asked.  Imagine how that would feel like pulling teeth with your bare hands… that’s what reading the conversations between Ryan and Taryn sometimes felt like.  The characters themselves were very likeable, but it was when they were together that they didn’t work, which is unfortunate as they are the leads.

I think the author has a really good premise for the novel 9and subsequent series it seems to be part of), but it could have been so much better, and shorter.   At almost 700 pages, this book is far too long to be the first in a series.

As you know, I HATE not finishing a book, but it felt as if I wasn’t getting anywhere no matter how long I read it for so I just couldn’t go on.  I may return to it in the future and muddle through.  If I do, I will come back and update this review.

I wish I could find more positive things to say, but as I haven’t finished the book, unfortunately I can’t which makes me angry with myself as I don’t like to give solely negative reviews, but I need to be honest.

Leave a comment

Filed under ARC, contemporary, Romance, Unfinished

Leave a Reply

